Wood Shop Re-Design

As part of my interview at a school in the Philadelphia area, I drafted a re-design of their wood shop.  I recommended painting and focusing on cleaner organization, as well as a few re-arrangements of tools.  Hopefully I will be teaching woodworking, sculpture, and photography at the school in Fall 2012 and will be able to implement these changes.

I also recommended building an out-feed table for the table saw.

I will be cleaning up this side of the room and possibly moving both boards to the far wall, creating a dedicated front-of-room.

I will be organizing the hand tools and clamps similar to those pictured below, from the woodshop at SAIC.

I created the model in Sketch Up, and borrowed tool designs from other users.

~ by Michael Webster on March 31, 2012.

Leave a comment